RSS

End of year acronyms

14 Jun

End of year at school again and it feels like one just went by. There was a time I was impatient for her to complete primary school. It seemed to take for ever to graduate from Grade 5 into middle school, if you include the time they spend at Kindergarten. Some kids also go to a preschool for a whole year before KG! Akank was one of the lucky ones who did 6 months of it.

Now, middle school seems to fly past so quickly! She is already going to be in Grade 8 in August and in final year of middle school. I complain now about how fast time flies!

This year again Akank brought back her year book that had the individual photographs of all the students in different grades and group pictures with the tutors. The year book also had a few pages at the end that was meant for autographs. Typically, the book gets passed around between friends and frenemies across sections and grades.

I flipped through some pages, read a few messages and my vocabulary of acronyms is update with what teens use today!

The messages in Akank’s year book

HAGS is short for Have a great summer!  LYLAS is short for Love you like a sister!  KATS is short for Kick ass this summer (inappropriate according to Akank!) and YOLO is short for You only live once!

I look back at my school days and I recall that we only had autograph books at the end of Grade 12. We were extremely shy to ask people to write in our books, unless they were our ‘besties’ ( yeah, that is what best friends are called today) and the most you would get to read is an innocent rhyme about violets and roses, sugar and you!

Times have changed. What is your experience with the NexGen kids?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in contemplations, School, updates

 

3 responses to “End of year acronyms

  1. Ramesh

    June 14, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    YAIP! (Yet another interesting post)

     
  2. Padma Gopal

    June 16, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    I ‘m sure you remember that your first autograph book was stitched by me, you asked one, when Arun bought his during his school finals. (Ha ha ha… can’t control my giggle! :P)

    When I bought my autograph book, my grand mother was annoyed for buying ‘a tiny book for 5 annas’.

    Yes,I can see the Generation GAAAAAAAAP!

     
  3. Arthi

    June 26, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Ma, the stitched autograph book you made for me, was the BEST one I have ever owned! So thank you. It meant so much to me then.

     

Leave a Reply

 
